Skip to content

Rodeo Church @ Pianos: New York City

March 15, 2011

I decided to get my Monday off to a rocky start early, by hopping the J train to Manhattan to watch Boston natives Rodeo Church perform their late night set Sunday at the charming Piano’s Bar on Ludlow Street.

An earlier performance by the South-by-Southwest bound Mujeres, from Barcelona, Spain, really set the tone for a delightful evening of noise. I must say, I was very impressed by Mujeres, whose punk-driven surf guitars and thumping bass lines had the whole room shaking. I suggest you check them out.

Rodeo Church’s performance was inspiring, considering the unfortunate turn-of-events that took place last night, when one of the group member’s vehicles was broken into. A guitar, amplifier and strangely enough, some merchandise, including t-shirts, were all lost. And yet, the band pressed on.

I suggest you re-sanctify your music privileges from all that torrenting and throw these hard-working musicians some cashflow for their tunes at their bandcamp site. Even just a dollar will help.

Here are some pictures from the show… (I know some of the pictures are grainy as all hell, but cut me some slack, my Canon Rebel XS still is not badass enough to capture images Piano’s hardly lit stage and until I hack Photoshop, standard photo editing will do.)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Also I promised one of the members of the Pajama People to give them a shout out on the blog, so here you go!

You must check out “Secret Handshake.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Karin Young permalink
    March 15, 2011 9:33 am

    Can I get copies of your pictures from the Rodeo Church’s performance at Pianos?

    • Jenny Young permalink
      March 15, 2011 2:36 pm

      Mom… I’ll save them and email them to you.

Leave a Reply

