Skip to content

Baskettcase: Watch the Throne & Green Day

August 9, 2011

A column by Jeremy Baskett

This is Rolling Stone Magazine's nomination for the greatest punk band of all-time. That being said, commence to rolling that stone up and tossing it into your nearest fire, followed by a self-injected slap to the face to rid that horrible taste in your mouth from when you originally read that headline.

This past week has been quite the complicated week for myself. My apartment getting robbed, twice, has left me scattered brained and violated. Much like the feeling I got from my first listen of Watch the Throne by Jay Z and Kanye West.

SO, with that being said, I think I shall just keep this week’s Baskettcase short and scattered much like my current mindset.

Ultimately, Watch the Throne turned out to be deafening egotism caked over some overproduced, albeit catchy, beats. Not even the help of RZA, Q-Tip, and Swizz beats, who assisted the album’s production, could really save it. It’s the classic case of ‘too much of a good thing.’ This reminds me of another overly mediocre supergroup, Monsters of Folk, featuring Jim James, M. Ward, and Conor Oberst.

Another violation that sodomized my emotions was Rolling Stone’s “10 Best Punk Rock Bands Ever” column in their latest issue. This was something I was very excited about, mainly because I identified myself as a “punk rocker” in high school and still love it dearly.

To be fair, before I get into what really hurt me, I have to tell you that the greatest punk bands were on the list. Black Flag, Bad Brains, Dead Kennedys, and The Misfits all were present. However, it was the number one spot that really struck a chord with me.

Green Day.

Yes, Green Day. I’m sorry, but since when has Green Day ever been labeled as a true punk band? When was Green Day ever banned from venues, or caused a riot? Never.

Let me conclude this post with saying that I have been bent over by most everything in the past week. But the week is new, and I am getting back to normal as we speak. My apologies with such an angst filled column. Looking forward to next week.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

