Skip to content

Jimmy Cliff & Tim Armstrong Collaborate on New Album

August 23, 2011

Everyone seems to hail Bob Marley as the do-all, end-all God of reggae music, but many overlook the accomplishments of James Chambers, also known as Jimmy Cliff.

Move over Kanye & Jay-Z; there's another, more rooted collaboration occuring between Jimmy Cliff and Tim Armstrong. Collaboration of the year? We'll see.

The penman of such classic songs as “The Harder They Fall,” “You Can Get It If You Really Want” and “Sitting in Limbo,” Cliff has been covered by the likes of Joe Strummer, Willie Nelson, Bruce Springsteen, Jerry Garcia and many more. Not to mention, the reggae/ska musician is currently the only living artist to hold the Jamaican Order of Merit, a national award presented to citizens of distinguished international acclaim. (Bob Marley is the only other artist to previously attain the award.)

To follow up his induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in March of 2010, the 63-year-old Cliff is embarking on perhaps the most interesting experiment of his career, by joining Rancid frontman Tim Armstrong in writing new songs for a collaborative album. How this process will test the fluidity of two musicians who differ in age by 18 years will be interesting to track.

Armstrong is also producing the album, which will include a backing band known as the “Engine Room.”

The EP is expected to drop by November, with the full album arriving on shelves sometime in early 2012.

In an interview with Stereogum, Cliff noted other mysterious projects he was working currently working on.

“I’ll take breaks from touring so we can work on this record, with the hope of having the album ready for the end of the year or sometime early next year,” Cliff said. “I’m actually working on enough material for about three different albums right now. The juices are flowing.”

Not to hog the spotlight, Cliff and Armstrong reportedly will include a rendition of the Clash’s “Guns of Brixton” on the currently untitled record, which you can taste below!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2013 8:15 pm

    Hey this is kind of of off topic but I was wanting to
    know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding know-how so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  2. May 2, 2013 8:17 pm

    It’s actually very complicated in this busy life to listen news on TV, therefore I simply use internet for that reason, and get the latest news.

  3. May 11, 2013 10:33 pm

    Hello, I do think your website may be having internet browser compatibility issues.
    Whenever I look at your web site in Safari, it looks
    fine however, if opening in I.E., it’s got some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other than that, fantastic website!

  4. May 13, 2013 2:13 am

    each time i used to read smaller articles that also clear their motive,
    and that is also happening with this post which I am reading here.

  5. May 16, 2013 6:11 pm

    Ahaa, its pleasant dialogue on the topic of this post here at this website, I have read all that,
    so now me also commenting here.

  6. June 2, 2013 3:24 pm

    Howdy! I know this is kind of off-topic however I needed
    to ask. Does building a well-established website like yours require a lot of
    work? I am brand new to writing a blog however I do write
    in my journal every day. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my experience and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any kind of ideas or tips for new aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

Leave a Reply

