Skip to content

Baskettcase: Dubstep, Why Are We Here? and other Great Questions of Mankind

October 11, 2011

A Column by Jeremy Baskett

Rock and roll is now a performance art with a central focus on Apple MacBooks and mixing tables. Fuck guitars and drums. This is the future and it doesn't make sense.

Recently I’ve encountered a new musical genre that has seen a huge growth in popularity this past year.

Yep, you guessed it. Dubstep.

A new kind of electronic subgenre that is playing in clubs throughout Europe, the States, and beyond. After a few walk-by encounters of this music blasting from clubs in Manhattan, as well as my Facebook community raving about it, no pun intended, I decided to look into it a little further.

Seeking the most convenient definition of dubstep, I naturally searched Wikipedia first. Wikipedia informed me that dubstep “is a genre of electronic dance music that originated in South London, England. Its overall sound has been described as “tightly coiled productions with overwhelming bass lines and reverberant drum patterns, clipped samples, and occasional vocals.” The genre’s origins stem from Dub, Grime, 2-step, and drum and bass. Not really knowing what ‘grime’ was or what ‘dub’ and ‘2-step’ were all about, I figured I should just listen to what these genres blended into to make dubstep.

What I found annoyed me, but most of all, it confused me.

Let me start off by saying that I do enjoy all kinds of electronic music, even the highly obscure, but this was something that didn’t strike with me at all. Filthy bass line being dropped so hard I almost had to take my bass-kicking headphones off. It reminded me of something that would be playing at a rave, though I was never apart of rave-culture, so I can’t really say. Though, it is definitely the kind of music I can imagine kids taking hallucinogens or ecstasy to fully “understand” this genre.

The artist that I selected as my usher for preparing this column is the heavily popular artist, Skrillex, whose video for “Scary Monsters and Nice Sprites” has a whopping 35 million views.

Check out the song below, and make your judgement.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

